A new way of driving

I was fortunate to be among the first dozen MiniE recipients, and have now had my car for about 10 days.  They take a little getting used to, so I thought I would help out you new owners a little by letting you in on a few of the things I have learned so far.

First of all, I have noticed that some of the blogs by new owners refer to the great handling of the car and the great ergonomics of the interior and how cute the car is.  These people have obviously never owned a Mini Cooper before.  They are ALL like that.  What I want to do here is focus on the things that make the MiniEs different from their petrol-powered road mates.

You will notice that there are two pedals used to control the electric motor.  The number of pedals is not unique, but their function is.

The right-most pedal, commonly called an “accelerator” in vehicles that haul around tanks full of liquefied dinosaurs, makes the car do two things – Go And Slow.  I like to refer to it as the G.A.S. pedal (pronounced “gas”).  As you apply pressure to the pedal the car will go; as you reduce pressure on the pedal the car will slow (and eventually stop).

To the left of the G.A.S. pedal you will find another pedal that Basically Removes All Kinetic Energy from the vehicle (which conveniently spells out another easy to pronounce acronym – “B.R.A.K.E.”).  When you use this pedal on the East Coast it will bring the car to a complete stop.  This pedal is not used in California.

One of the things I have noticed from the other blogs about the MiniE is that they are filled with statics – references to “charge” times, Kw per 100 miles, even the number of speeding tickets the driver has received while driving the MiniE.  While numbers might be important to some people I plan to ignore all of the numeric output from my MiniE’s computer (and only the DMV will know how many tickets I get).

One number is important, however, and that is your side scuttle number.  It says so much about your MiniE, telling you about its desires, Life Path and destiny.  My MiniE is number 19, suggesting that it entered this world with strengths allowing it to become a leader (like a 150Kw power plant).  It was also born with individualistic desires and significant creative inspiration, but that is true of all Mini Coopers.  I will let you know how my MiniE acts on those desires and inspirations as they manifest on this plane of existence.

14 Responses to “A new way of driving”

  1. How inventive! Never thought about calling them a g.a.s. pedal and a b.r.a.k.e. pedal!

    Love the writing, I would say that number 19 means that you are channeling the energy a hell of a wide receiver that played with electric bolts of energy on his helmet!

    Solar P.V. + EV = the future of America.

    good job my friend
    cheers
    Peder

  2. Nice to be able to afford a Mini EV. Isn’t it $900 per month lease program? Yikes!

    • nobullsavage Says:

      Steve,

      Yes, they are $850 per month plus tax. It replaces another car, though, so the incremental cost is only about $100 per month. It is never cheap to be a pioneer. The guys that came to California for the Gold Rush would pay 2 or 3 years earnings for a chance to strike it rich. 6 of my antecedents did just that (not the strike it rich part), so maybe it is in my blood.

  3. ” This pedal is not used in California.”

    I don’t understand this comment. Did I miss something because of your writing style (which I liked, but it is different)?

    • nobullsavage Says:

      Well, it seems to me that no other driver ever comes to a complete stop here in the Golden State. I always do, of course.
      I was just trying to point out that lack-of-stopping.

      • John C. Says:

        I think tg2009 may not be from California. My family has always called that rolling stop a “California stop.”

        Very funny writing. I enjoyed your blog.

        John C.
        Marin County, CA

  4. Love your blog – very refreshing to see a different view of the MINI E field trial. Still waiting for mine – unless they kick me off the program after today’s email to BMWUSA and MINIUSA…

  5. Congratulations on your new MINI E. I just had my charging unit installed and keep checking my answering machine and email constantly awaiting word on mine.

    Thank you for the G.A.S and B.R.A.K.E acronyms. I’ll have to remember them the next time I mention the gas pedal and someone attempts to correct me.

    -Stu
    http://www.stuartistry.com/my-mini-e

  6. […] extra with his new ride: power it completely by solar power. David has started up a new blog called MINI E 19 (his car is #19) and the first entry talks about the initial week with the battery-laden MINI E. […]

  7. Please email the guys and gals at evcast.com podcastatevcast.com and they will interview you. I enjoy the blog, but I would like some information about how the vehicle performs overtime.

    Thanks

  8. Finally a MINI-E blog by a previous MINI owner. I look forward to hearing more of the differences and impressions.
    I appreciate the humor as well. I’m somewhat jealous as I don’t like using that BRAKE pedal, but that’s impossible out here on the east coast, as you said. 🙂

  9. Personally, I think the MINI E is an interesting project and I’m glad MINI is looking into alternative vehicles but until battery technology gets better, cleaner, and our power grid gets better it’s a joke. Yes I understand usage = advancement of the technology but at what cost to the environment will all these old batteries have?

    Using solar is a good thing but how long does it take to charge it using that method or is it t same as regular grid power? How much would it add to your power bill if you used only the “Grid”? How much does charging the MINI take away from your battery power storage for home usage?

  10. […] extra with his new ride: power it completely by solar power. David has started up a new blog called MINI E 19 (his car is #19) and the first entry talks about the initial week with the battery-laden MINI E. […]

  11. Stan Wellaway Says:

    EV fans should keep an eye on events at Capitol Hill Washington next Tuesday. It doesn’t involve the Mini but it sure will raise the public profile of electric vehicles. Six of the biggest names in US commerce will each take delivery of a 7.5ton US-built all-electric truck in their own colors. And a whole bunch of company chiefs will be there to share the glory and tell us how many each fleet has ordered.

Leave a comment